How to Delete TikTok Account Permanently

How to Delete TikTok Account Permanently

TikTok can be more addictive than you think. With millions of videos uploaded each day, you might spend too much time watching videos on this app. If you want to start over and delete your account, you’ve come to the right page as you will learn how to delete TikTok account permanently right here.

However, deleting an account is a big decision because this action is irreversible. Once deleted, your account cannot be recovered and any videos you have posted will be removed. Whatever your reason to delete TikTok account, make sure you won’t regret it in the future.

How to Delete Your TikTok Account

Getting rid of TikTok is actually simple. This social networking platform allows you to delete account just in a few steps. You might have to go through a verification process, either via SMS or Google account depending on your previous setup.

If you are determined to delete a TikTok account, follow the steps below.

  • Open TikTok app on your mobile device. Log in to your account if you log out in the previous session.
  • Find and tap Me tab, then choose Settings menu. It should be an icon with three vertical dots that can be found in the top-right of your screen.

Find and tap Me tab, then choose Settings menu

  • Select Manage Account.

Select Manage Account

  • Scroll down and navigate to Delete Account. Tap it.

Scroll down and navigate to Delete Account

  • You will have to go through a verification process. If you previously used SMS verification on TikTok account, you will receive a text message containing a code.

You will have to go through a verification process. If you previously used SMS verification on TikTok account

  • Or if you previously used Google account, you will need to log in to your account and follow the instruction prompted.

Or if you previously used Google account, you will need to log in to your account and follow the instruction prompted.

  • Enter the code and tap Delete Account. You will also receive a warning about what will be lost when you proceed.

Enter the code and tap Delete Account

  • Tap the Delete button for the last time for confirmation. Once your account deleted, you will be taken to TikTok’s homepage.

Now your TikTok account is permanently deleted. That means any uploaded videos or purchases made through the app won’t be able to be accessed. If you plan to create another account, it is strongly recommended to back up videos before deletion.

But if you are sure that you don’t want to create another TikTok account, you don’t necessarily need to back up the videos. However, you will want to uninstall the application from your phone. 

Uninstalling TikTok is quite the same as uninstalling other apps—you can access from the Settings menu or simply press the app icon and tap Uninstall.

Why Your TikTok Account Cannot Be Deleted

TikTok isn’t like other social media networking that requires you to create an account before enjoying the service. To discover videos uploaded by other users, you don’t necessarily need to create an account. All you have to do is download the app and discover videos based on your preferences.

Whenever you lose interest in TikTok or simply want to gain your quality time back, you will want to delete the account. But if you cannot do the above method, chances are you do not have a TikTok account. In other words, you cannot delete TikTok account because you never sign up.

You might forget that you enjoy and discover uploaded videos without creating an account. So, you only need to uninstall TikTok app from your device to get rid of it. Once uninstalled, you won’t be tempted to access this social media platform.

Alternative to Get Rid of TikTok

Your videos and purchases will be removed once your account is deleted. If you have been using this platform for some time, you might have too many fantastic videos uploaded in TikTok account.

If you want to get rid of TikTok for a while but don’t want to lose all the good memories, uninstalling the app will be the best alternative. Removing the app from your device can help you get rid of addiction of this social media platform.

Uninstalling TikTok will not affect anything to the content you have uploaded. Anytime you want to come back, simply install this app on your device. Once you log back in, everything will be the same like when you leave it.

Knowing how to delete TikTok account helps you get rid of addiction. But before deleting the account, make sure you have learned about the consequences—your videos and purchases won’t be able to recover. Are you ready to start a new life without TikTok? 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *