Nowadays, Instagram is undoubtedly one of the best social media networks. People around the globe, including you, have at least one active Instagram account to share and show off the daily activities. Unluckily, posting from time to time can make your followers annoyed and decide to block your Instagram eventually. That becomes the issue is, how to know if someone blocked you on Instagram?
In fact, Instagram does not send any notification when your account is blocked by other users. There are several signs to help you find out if someone actually blocked you on Instagram. For instance, you cannot see their posts and stories anymore. However, you shouldn’t come to the conclusion that fast. There may be other reasons such as the user stops using Instagram or other technical reasons.
Table of Contents
Ways to Know If Your Instagram Is Blocked by Someone
Knowing that your Instagram is blocked by someone is irritating. You find that Instagram is not helpful as it doesn’t provide any tool to figure out the riddle. Fortunately, you have come to the right page. You are about to find simple and easy ways to know if your IG has been blocked by someone. No third-party applications are required, simply use your Instagram app and you are ready to go.
1. Search for the user’s profile
The first and the easiest way to reveal the mystery is by searching for the suspect’s profile. Enter the suspect’s username and check if it appears on your search result. When you do this, you will get one of these possibilities.
- Whenever you see their profile and posts, it means you are not blocked. In case the account is set to private, you will see This Account is Private on your screen.
- Whenever you see their post count and profile but you cannot see any posts though it is not set to private, it signs that you have been blocked by this user.
- If you cannot find their profile in the search bar, it means the user either deactivated the account or blocked you.
2. Use Instagram username
How to know if someone blocked you on Instagram is by using Instagram username. You can use the following link Instagram.com/username from any browser. Replace the username with the suspect’s username. If you cannot reach the link, it shows that you have been blocked by the user.
To confirm this conclusion, log out from your profile then open incognito mode on your browser. Open the suspect’s profile from the link. If you can access the profile, it is true that the user blocked you on Instagram. But if the profile doesn’t appear, they may deactivate the account and you are fine.
3. Check on messages
Another method to ensure that someone blocked you is by checking the messages, especially if you ever sent messages with the suspected one. Blocking on Instagram will hide the chat thread so you can draw a conclusion from there. Open your Direct Messages and find the chat thread. If you can find it, you are safe. But if the chat thread is missing, it signs that you have been blocked. And yet, someone who deactivated their account will also make the thread missing.
4. Try to follow
Trying to follow the account can help you reveal the truth. Someone who blocked you on Instagram cannot be followed again, no matter how much you try. To do this, open their Instagram profile and click the Follow button. If nothing happens, and the button remains saying Follow, it has been clear that you are blocked. Instagram will not send any notification to the users that you try to follow them.
How to know if someone blocked you on Instagram is pretty easy. Despite the fact that there is no special tool to find it out, you can use the tricks above to figure it out. Suspecting that someone has blocked you on Instagram is frustrating. For this reason, you need to prove it so that you can sleep soundly. Take a pick on the methods above and find out whether or not you are really blocked by someone.